Shri Vijay Kumar-IPS takes over as IGP Kashmir


Shri Vijay Kumar-IPS today took over as IGP Kashmir Zone. He took charge from Shri SP Pani-IPS.

Shri Vijay Kumar is a 1997 Batch IPS officer and has served in J&K Police in various capacities in the past. He has served as SDPO Ganderbal, SP Ops Pulwama, SP Awantipora, SP Kulgam, SP Vigilance, DIG Traffic Kashmir, DIG South Kashmir range and IGP Armed Kashmir.

He was earlier posted in CRPF during his central deputation as DIG New Delhi Range, IGP CoBRA and IGP Chhattisgarh.

He was also awarded by ECI with a National Award for his role as chief force coordinator of CAPFs in providing safe environment for conducting assembly elections in nine states in year 2018.

As DIG of the SKR Kashmir, he took many initiatives for the welfare of the community members.

Shri Vijay Kumar-IPS is recipient of four Gallantry Medals, Meritorious Service Medal, National Award by the ECI and various other Commendation medals by the COAS, GoC-in-C (Northern Command), DG CRPF & DGP J&K for the services rendered by him.