Measure aimed at minimising inconvenience to traders in the area: DC Srinagar

In the wake of the High Court orders disallowing roadside parking aimed at checking traffic congestion the Srinagar administration has identified four interim spaces around the city centre where traders can park their vehicles.

The measure is aimed at minimising inconvenience to traders facing parking difficulties following the High Court order.

The interim parking spaces were identified during Deputy Commissioner Srinagar Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary’s visit to the city centre Wednesday. The visit and the measure follow repeated appeals in this regard to the district administration.

The identified parking areas include SDA’s Sangarmal compound at MA Road, Sports Council’s Turf Ground parking at TRC, SRTC Yard at Lal Chowk and Old SMG compound behind Press Enclave at Abi Guzar.

These spaces can accommodate nearly 500 cars including around 200 at Sangarmal compound, around 150 at Old SMG compound, around 60 at Turf Ground parking and around 60 at SRTC Yard.

Three of these spaces will be available to traders for parking from January 2 whereas the remaining one at Old SMG compound will be available from January 10.

The parking spaces will be provided at special rates to traders. Shoppers will also be allowed to park their vehicles at these spaces for limited periods of time.

Speaking on the occasion the DC said the administration understands the parking inconvenience traders in the area face and that this measure is aimed at minimising this inconvenience.

He said work is in full swing on both the Abi Guzar and Sheikh Bagh milti-level parkings adding that concerned executing agencies have been directed to speed up work and ensure their completion at the earliest possible.

Meanwhile a technical committee under RTO Kashmir has been constituted to recommend those areas where roadside parking can be allowed without affecting smooth traffic movement. It was informed the recommendations will be submitted to the High Court for consideration.

It is notable the Divisional Commissioner Kashmir on December 21 constituted six no-parking zones around city centre including Lal Chowk to Dalgate, Lal Chowk to Jehangir Chowk, Jehangir Chowk to Naaz Crossing, Secretariat road to Batamalo and Jehangir Chowk to Karan Nagar.

The traffic regulations in the area were in pursuance to the directions the High Court the aim being to curb traffic congestion aimed at ensuring smooth flow of traffic thereat.

To ensure no other kind of encroachment takes place on the said roadsides the district administration has constituted teams to prevent just that. Concerned magistrates have been instructed to initiate immediate and strict action against those found involved in encroaching roadsides. Shopkeepers and vendors have been particularly warned against involvement therein.