Cluster University of Jammu organized a Seminar in Mathematics


Department of Mathematics , School of Sciences , Cluster University of Jammu organized National Mathematics Day  and organized a seminar on the theme “Ramanujan: A Legend in Mathematics”  in which Prof. Bhopinder Singh, Dean Academic Affairs of Cluster University of Jammu was chief guest.  Dr. Sunil Gupta, Controller of examination, J&K BOPEE and Dr. Pavinder Singh from Department of Mathematics, Central University of Jammu were the resource persons of this seminar.  Speaking on the occasion Prof. Bhopinder Singh in his address praised the department of mathematics for organizing this event and encouraged the students to get inspiration from legendary mathematicians like Ramanujan. Earlier, the programme started with the welcome address by Dr. Narinder Sharma, Coordinator Mathematics, School of sciences in which he apprised the audience about the importance of celebrating National Mathematics Day along with objective of organizing this event. Dr. Sunil Gupta in   his talk awared the students about the importance of mathematics in allied sciences and advised them to read about biographies of Indian Mathematicians so that they can follow the path of becoming a good mathematician.Dr. Parvinder singh in his talk touched the miserable part of Ramanujan and setbacks he faced in his life. During the technical session Students of the school of sciences presented their ideas about history of Ramnujan covering life, achievements and his contributions in Mathematics. Arun Singh, Simran Gupta and Tania Gupta got first, second and third position in the seminar where as Akansha and Hita Gupta got consolation prizes. Prof. Sanjeev Verma and Dr. Rajeev Kumar were Jury member of the seminar. The vote of thanks was given by Dr. Sunil KumarSharma. The programme was compared by Sapna Sharma of school of sciences.Among other present on the occasion were Prof. Chanchal  KhajuriaCoordinator Geology, Dr. T.K Sharma,  H.O.D Mathematics GGM Science College,Faculty members of different departments of School of sciences of Cluster University of Jammu.